27 November 2023 Harvest Monday

Welcome to Harvest Monday, where we celebrate all things harvest related. For the origin of Harvest Mondays, please visit our happy acres. Yes, I know it’s March, four months later, but better late than never!

Bananas:

4kg of bananas on a weighing scale

I was watching my bunch of bananas almost but not quite ripen over several months. Then it got to holiday time, so I harvested and gave them to my neighbour to eat as they ripen. 4kg.

But after I returned from holidays, they had ALL ripened, All at once! My poor neighbour had eaten a few, and frozen a few, but then gave me back the rest of my bananas. So I dehydrated them for later snacks.

banana fruit cut lengthwise in a dehydrator

Raspberries:

a single raspberry weighing 4g on a kitchen scale

I got two raspberries! I took one photo. 6g.

Blueberries:

two blueberries on a kitchen scale

6g of blueberries, nellie kelly/sunshine. So sweet. Happy I beat the birds to the fruit.

Broadbean (singular):

a broadbean pod with a pair of scissors for scale

My neighbour in a fit of enthusiam planted broad beans for me. In a spot that got no sun. I think I grew mostly aphids, and then just as summer arrived I got one broadbean. The broadbean plants definitely wanted to ensure survival of the species by giving me one bean! 8g, although once podded, I think it was only 4g.

Cherry tomatoes:

cherry tomatoes in a plastic container on a kitchen scale

75g this harvest. The plant is a compost volunteer.

Harvest Summary for November 2023:

So dear reader, have you harvested anything from your garden recently? How does your garden grow? Have you had any raging success with compost volunteer plants?

One response to this post.

  1. Dehydrating the bananas is a great idea! We bought some already dried at a farmer’s market at a recent trip to Hawaii. I use the bananas in my breakfast muesli, and let milk rehydrate them a bit.

    Reply

Leave a comment