Harvest Monday

I have had 1-2 tomatoes so far, all with grubs, but this was the first time I harvested a big lot of them. Ok, so there was a caterpillar munching on one, and evidence of more caterpillar breakfast on another but here is 800g of grosse lisse:

Monday harvest

I had three of them in a slow cooked ‘shakshuska’ breakfast, except that I was so distracted, I forgot to add the egg.

I’m thinking of bringing out my inner wog, and turning the rest of the harvest into my very own passata.

Add various harvestings of thyme, lemon thyme, rosemary and mint.

The cucumbers (300g) are from my neighbour, she’s such a gem!

I don’t know if this is an old wives tale, but she says that if you harvest them in the full heat of the day, it makes them sour. Thoughts?

2 responses to this post.

  1. I had to look up a recipe, but that shakshuka sounds yummy. I’ve never heard that about harvesting cucumbers in the heat of the day. I could see heat making them bitter maybe, but not sour.

    Reply

  2. I would be hard pressed to test the “heat of the day” theory because it rarely gets really hot here. 🙂 But no, I’ve never even heard about that theory. Those are fine looking tomatoes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

