Winter in the Garden

It has been quite a cold winter in Sydney. We had a coldest july for 20 years with sub-7-degree C temperatures – the average temperature this month has been 7.2 degrees!

Picked:

Pumpkin. The poor pumpkin plant managed to put out one pumpkin before it was killed off with all the frost.

Pumpkin

Guavas. So many guavas. 2015 season was May – July. Three whole months!

Planted:
Seedlings. Kale – Cavalo Nero. Kale – red curly. 1 x beetroot seedling. I bought a set of six from the markets, but I gave half of them to a friend.

I planted snow peas:

Snow peas

… which are starting to form flower heads. They seem quite sheltered from the frost that we have been getting at least twice a week for a month.

This year, rather than risking the garlic getting whipper snippered near the rose bush, I have planted the garlic cloves in a pot. This should also help with harvest.

What does the garden look like?
Broccoli

Broccoli

it’s forming a head! The secondary plant, behind, is also starting to form a head, but it seems to be a bit shaded by the one in front.

The banana plant

Banana plant

is not faring well at all. I have a 4m high frostbitten plant. The chill has reminded the banana that it is growing out of its normal area.

Planned:
I was really inspired by the Vineyards in Santa Rosa, California. Rows and rows of grapes. I really want to put up a trellis/espallier for my grapevine in the front yard, as a sort of living fence. This sprouted from a neighbours’ grapevine, which has unfortunately had to be removed. I’d better do this soon, otherwise winter will be gone!

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] already written a post about my 2015 winter garden. I guess this is part 2 (in Australia, Winter is classified as […]

    Reply

  2. […] to the USA, and driving around the Santa Rosa wine country area, I was really inspired to dig my rogue grapevine out of the planter box, and trellis it and use it as a “living fence” out the front of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

