Reverb 2014, Part Two

Reverb 2014, Part One is here.

Other years participation are listed here.

6. Prompt for 6 December:
Money. Where did you spend your money this year? Did you save it instead? What, if anything, would you like to do with your finances this year?

I’m generally more of a saver than a spender, but that doesn’t mean I don’t spend. I like to use good quality ingredients in my cooking, in my eating. I didn’t think that there was much difference in ‘no-name’ brand flour and ‘branded’ flour (and I’m not even getting into the stone ground flour yet). But this year I noticed a difference: everything that I made with the no-name brand was more rock-like than expected, and the results didn’t rise. The taste was always ‘flat’ and uninteresting.

When buying clothing, I prefer to spend more on long lasting well made pieces to wear than the latest trend from a chain-store knockoff. I try to buy Australian made and ethical wherever possible. There have been less shopping trips to Melbourne this year.

I have spent a lot of money on the bees, I think I’m at $1500 so far, less than 6 months in. Hopefully this will settle down as I have bought the hive, the protective equipment, and I’m in the process of buying another hive. I don’t anticipate any additional costs from now. fingers crossed.

With the finances in 2015: hoping to have enough money for property purchase, or some shares. My procrastination will have to take a bit of a backseat.

7. Prompt for 7 December:
Victory Laps: What was your biggest accomplishment this year?

Got bees. ‘Nuff said. Oh wait, they accomplish all on their own without me.
I tried to meditate/conduct yoga for a month straight. Mostly did it for most of the month.

8. Prompt for 8 December:
Hero: Who was your hero this year? Tell us why. What makes a hero in your eyes?

I admire the Australian author Bob Graham, who donated part of his winnings from the 2014 Prime Ministers Children’s Fiction Awards to the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre. This is in front of a PM who implemented a “closed border” policy of towing asylum seeker boats away from Australia, to their alleged point of origin. Even using inflatable life rafts as a boat substitute.

Australia is a signatory to the UN Refugee Convention. Seeking asylum is a human right. If we deny people that right, are we really human?

Seeking asylum is a human right

9. Prompt for 9 December:
The Plank: It has been said that you must learn to take care of yourself before you can be effective at taking care of others. How did you take care of yourself in 2013 (sic)? How will you take care of yourself in 2014 (sic)?

Meditate more. Perform Yoga more than once a week (so I’m 6 sessions out so far this year). Donate more to charity.

10. Prompt for 10 December:
Leap of faith: What decision did you make this year that was a leap of faith? Did it work out? Or not?

Committing to getting the bees. Bees are for life, not just for Christmas.

11. Prompt for 11 December:
Small Pleasures: What small pleasures did you discover this year?

Watching the bees go about their normal activity at the hive entrance. Turning my foraging eyes “on” and looking a what is in bloom in the neighbourhood, and what the bees could be collecting today. That’s what will go into the honey and the bee bread that they’re making. Each teaspoon of honey is a reflection of what’s in the surrounding environment, and contains the nectar of up to 1000 flowers.

One response to this post.

  1. […] 2015 Edition 2014 Edition 2013 There was no Edition 2012. Edition 2011 Edition […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

