Lemon, Almond and ginger protein balls

Searching the interwebs for ‘almond meal raw balls’ feels a bit odd. But the inspiration was this:

Inspiration

Spotted at Marrickville Markets. Yes, I only took a picture of the *sign* not of the ‘raw balls’.

I followed, mostly – ish, the recipe from petite kitchen, except I didn’t have enough desiccated coconut.

1 cup of desiccated coconut – I substituted with sesame seeds, chia seeds, rolled amaranth, desiccated coconut.
I also added 1cm knob of finely grated fresh ginger.

I’ll show you mine if you show me yours:

Lemon, almond, ginger protein balls

I must’ve used young ginger, because it didn’t have that gingery ‘bite’ that I was looking for. It’s really important to use ‘fresh’ desiccated coconut. I found that I had an unpleasant stale taste from mine.

The end result was variously described as ‘really nice, because it’s not as rich as most protein balls’, and ‘too rich!’. You can’t please everybody. I later used the leftovers as the base for the allegedly raw caramel slice.

Leave a Reply

