GF Red Velvet Chocolate cake with beetroot

I think that the red velvet cake with beetroot is my current favourite cake of the moment. I think that it’s because it tastes rich and moist like mudcake, without being heavy or too sweet. So I was sad when my friend H couldn’t taste any because she had returned to her gluten free diet in order to keep her blood sugars down.

Well, I still haven’t managed to replicate the ‘amazing’ very-beetroot intense cake from Organic Bread Bar:

GF Red Velvet Cupcake

So, why not try and make the cake gluten free?

By the way, I as you can see from the picture above, I did finally get into gear to try the Organic Bread Bar’s GF REd Velvet Cupcake. The sign didn’t say that it involved beetroot.

I really liked the icing, although it was a bit on the sweet side for me. I did not like the cupcake that much. I couldn’t taste the beetroot flavour – to me it was rather bland. It also didn’t taste strongly of chocolate. I’m not sure what gf flour that they used (it was GF cupcake), but there were shreds of coconut it there. It wasn’t primarily coconut flour, and it wasn’t almond meal.

Since this was an experiment, I decided to make a half size loaf cake.

I did some reading, and based on what I had in my cupboard, I decided to make my gluten free mix thus:

40% whole grain flour, 60% white starch as per glutenfree girl’s instructions.
Interestingly, Roben Ryberg classifies flours as either ‘gritty’ or ‘powdery’, but also believes that teff flour and quinoa flour are out because the ‘flavour does not merit use’. Sorry hun, but I really want to use up my quinoa!

I toasted my quinoa flour to try and remove the bitter taste, but I only had 50g.

So my 40% whole grain flour was 50g quinoa flour, 38g corn (maize) flour.
The 60% white starch was “rice flour”.

Here are the two mixtures before they are combined:

GF Red velvet cake with beetroot

It looks much the same as the two mixtures did in the gluten version.

The mixture was really very dry and didn’t quite combine, so I ended up adding an extra 3/4 cups of soy milk. Glutenfreegigi says that “Many gluten-free batters tend to be more runny and not as thick as traditional batters containing gluten.”

Here is the wet mixture:

GF Red velvet cake with beetroot

The picture doesn’t quite do it justice, but the texture is very smooth, almost like a chocolate ganache mixture. The lumps are the chopped up bits of beetroot.

Adding the extra soy milk may have been a mistake, because baking at the 160 degree recommended temperature, even with a half sized cake has resulted in a raw cake at 45 minutes of baking:

GF red velvet - at 45 mins

Skewer came out sticky.

After 90 minutes baking
at 160 degrees C fan forced (with a small interlude in the middle of 180 degrees C):

GF Red velvet cake - 90 mins

Looks pretty good!

Verdict?
Not as ‘sweet’ as the wheat flour version, also not quite as moist or dense. There is a bitter taste that I think comes from the quinoa flour. I’m quite surprised that the cake held together, but then I did use 2 eggs and some psyllium to hold it together. The crumb is quite fine and it looks a lot like a wheat based cake, quite an acceptable product. There’s also an interesting ‘crunch’ or grittiness, possibly from the rice flour.

The cake was delicious when just out of the oven, but after it cooled, I noticed that it had quite a dry texture. Perhaps only 80 minutes worth of baking is required instead of 90.

Next time?

I’m going to try and find some sorghum flour. I would like to try this again with the ‘all purpose GF replacement’, that glutenfreegirl has as a starter.

Leave a Reply

