On tour: Canley Vale Progressive Lunch – part two

To recap, my friend M had invited me on a trial tour of Canley Vale, run by taste tours and the benevolent society. This is part two.

Waddling down the road, we then stopped at…
Henry Steamed Buns

We tasted some of the custard buns….

Henry Steam Buns custard

Amazing, bright yellow filling and very very egg-y in flavour. I have made these in the past, and I did cheat slightly with the addition of custard powder. My ones were lacking the fluffiness of the bun, because I tried to spread it across two many buns – they were more dumpling than bun.

Henry Steam Buns times two

We each got a packet of two buns, a giant one, and a smaller one. We were too full from lunch to sample our packs immediately.

The larger bun was a very tasty vegie bun. I saw water chestnut, corn, cabbage, peas and carrots. Very pleased to see the variety of veges in there – vego ones can sometimes be really disappointing.

I thought that the second one was supposed to be a pork bun and was initially disappointed when I opened it up and it looked like it was a red bean bun! I heated up the bun and was very surprised to find that it was actually pork!! The sauce was so red and the meat was so tightly packed in that it looked like red bean mixture. Amazing. I loved that there was lots of meat rather than too much gravy. The vege bun was pretty tasty as well.

This place was a little gem. Just make sure that if you are after a BBQ pork bun, you specify this.

Everyone else had wandered a bit further down the road, and we found them at the Passion Cafe.
Binh gave use a run down on how the green pandan flavoured ‘worms’ are made in the three colour drink.
Three colour drink

The tall glasses were then returned to the kitchen, to be divided up into smaller sample containers. We had, after all, finished lunch a mere 15 minutes beforehand.

Drinks at the Passion Cafe

A sampler of ‘tamarind iced drink’ was also distributed (on the right, above). This was indeed an interesting drink. Icy cold with sour tamarind, sweet palm sugar, roast peanuts and little pieces of crystalline ginger. Very refreshing.

I saw that little vietnamese coffee drippers were available, so before departing on my way, I ordered one to go. You take one sip, and it’s like: BLAM! The punch of serious caffeine, sugar and ice just whacks you about the head. Lucky I hadn’t yet had any coffee that day, or else I would have had trouble sleeping.

I might have to make a return visit to try their other options!

Before leaving the area, we went a little further up the road to visit Canley Heights. This place was buzzing with people, and we popped into a small grocery store off the main road to see what we could find.

I first spotted the greens, and some of which we had been discussing that day in the restaurant.

Canley Heights greens

From left to right we have: kang kong (ong choy, tong choy, water spinach or Ipomoea aquatica), Vietnamese Mint (Vietnamese Coriander, hot mint, or Persicaria_odorata), Rice Paddy Herb (or Limnophila aromatica). The first one I ate, the latter two I didn’t quite get around to eating the entire bunch, but I did strike some cuttings in a pot, and they are taking over. I asked the shop assistant what the vietnamese name for rice paddy herb was – she said that it was very long, but that it was used to make Tom Yum soup.

The dry goods that I found:

Canley Heights booty 1

A ginger tea in a bag that doesn’t contain any sugar, tamarind paste (seeds included), and roast rice powder – to save me from dry roasting and then hand grinding in a mortar and pestle when I want to make the thai salad dish larb. I really liked the tea to add a bit more oomph to a standard lemon and ginger tea, when I don’t have access to fresh ginger.

I enjoyed myself so much here, that I came back again a few days later to buy some more pork rolls.

Henry steam buns
Shop 3/17 canley vale road
0530-1700,daily

Passion cafe
15 Canley Vale road
0700-2200, daily

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Julie Everton on June 23, 2014 at 23:37

    This is great, glad you enjoyed the tour and location. We run media famils during the year to promote tours and would love to add you to our Bloggers list so that we can include you in the invitations. If you are interested please contact us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

