Round up, round up, it’s Reverb13

Madame Truffles

So I’ve written for Reverb11, Reverb10. Whoops, looks like I skipped a year in 2012. I also can’t make the reverb badge work. Oh, technology.

As stated on the website….Project Reverb is a way to reflect on the past year and project into the next year with a prompt a day for 31 days. These prompts are meant to be answered in posts on personal blogs, and anyone can join in.

1. Prompt for December 2:
Shine: What was the best moment of 2013?

Having played badminton for a mere six months, I managed to score a placing at the Corporate games in the doubles. I note that the team that came first were in a league above the rest of us – with one of the players having won that morning’s singles games.

Yes. The medal is shiny.

2. Prompt for December 5:
Challenge: Did you take on a new challenge? What was it? Is there are challenge you deliberately avoided? What do you want to do to challenge yourself in 2014?

Aha. Insert new years resolutions here. What were last years’ resolutions. I can’t remember. See? This is why I do the reverb project, even if it is only small select portions.

a) Read at least 20 books in 2014.

I used to be such a bookworm. Now, because I drive to work, it’s a lot harder to read during the commute. Other people tend to object if you try and drive and read at the same time.

b)Use my poor forgotten dSLR more.

I bought it. I used it for a bit. I did a short one eight hour photography course. Then I forgot all about it because it is just so easy to carry the point and shoot around. Then I replaced my phone with a smartphone and started using that for photos because it was just so easy to take photo, tag it, email it all in one unit. But the quality of the photos has definitely suffered.

c) Procrastinate less.
Reduce the number of my “to do” projects that are cluttering up my projects room, and make them “completed” projects.

Work-wise, I was asked to take on a leadership role for a small project with an impossible time frame. I did it… but I’m much happier being part of a team. I have this feeling that “they” have more of these sorts of things in store for me. Considering that I’m a rather loud extroverted type person, this is a challenge that I have been avoiding.

3. Prompt for December 18:
Wear: What piece of clothing did you wear again and again all throughout the year? Why? Is it all worn out? Are you going to replace it or keep wearing it?

Despite my protestations about if you buy a piece of clothing from a chain store or $5, how much has the poor person making the garment made…. I bought a dress. For $15. I have worn it, and worn it, and worn it. So much so, that I probably shouldn’t wear it again. As much as I love buying locally made investment pieces, there is something to be said for cheerfully coloured wash and wear material.

4. Prompt for December 26:
Five Moments: Tell us about five moments you don’t want to forget from 2013.

Winning a medal for the badminton competition.
Experimenting with, and having various levels of success with yeast-based baking: bagels, pretzels, and babkas.
Completing my little project I mentioned in Item 2.
Traveling to Utah, and exploring the amazing San Rafael Swell.

Actually, one moment from 2012 which I don’t want to forget is traveling to the back ends of Yunnan Province in China. We visited the Mekong River on the Chinese side (In China it is called the Lan Cang River 瀾滄江), and bumbled around from town to town. We also saw some rock art. It was awesome, and I will tell you a little more about it soon.

5. Prompt for December 31:
At the end: What’s next for you?
This is probably a bit too similar to the Prompt for Dec 5.
However, I think I need to look more serious in doing some sort of post graduate study in my field of employ, not necessarily because I want to, but because everyone else already has.

How about you? What are your key moments looking back at 2013, or looking forward to 2014?

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] Other years participation are listed here. […]

    Reply

  2. […] 2015 Edition 2014 Edition 2013 There was no Edition 2012. Edition 2011 Edition […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

