Cinnamon Scrolls

I had a craving for cinnamon scrolls. Something in texture like a hot cross bun but very cinnamon-like in flavour.

According to the Joy of Cooking, this meant first preparing some overnight buns.

I don’t have access to cakes of yeast, so I modified my basic hot cross bun recipe to start. I had to reduce the amount of milk, obvs, because I wouldn’t be adding as much bulk in the form of fruit.  

Overnight buns
1 tsp dried yeast (1 packet 7g)
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon
1/2 cup warm water

60g butter
1 egg
1/4 cup sugar
4 cups plain flour
1/2 cup lukewarm milk
1 tsp salt

1. Mix yeast with 1 teaspoon each of the sugar and flour, add lukewarm milk and mix well. Cover and stand in warm place 10 to 15 minutes or until mixture is frothy.*
2. Meanwhile sift sugar, flour, salt. Rub in butter, add egg and yeast mixture, and knead lightly to ensure ingredients are thoroughly mixed.
3. Place dough in lightly oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and leave in the fridge overnight.* Take out just before baking.

I hadn’t checked my stores before I started,and then I realised I had about 1/4 teaspoon of commercially bought cinnamon sugar left. Whoops. So I had to make my own cinnamon sugar.

Cinnamon sugar
4 tablespoons white sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon
mix together – ta da!


Cinnamon Buns
Makes approximately 17 small buns
Melted butter
Cinnamon Sugar

4. When the dough has doubled in bulk, roll it on a floury surface to the thickness of less than 1cm (1/4 inch)
5. Spread generously with melted butter and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar
6. Roll the dough like a jelly roll, cut into 1-inch slices.
7. Coat a muffin tin with oil, and sprinkle with brown sugar*
8. Place each slice of roll firmly on the bottom of a muffin tin. Permit to rise in a warm place for 30 minutes.
9. Bake in a preheated 180 degree C (350 degree F) oven for about 30 minutes.

So… after I had activate the yeast, I realised it was way past my bedtime to start mixing up some dough. It had formed a nice crust. However the next morning, *poooof!* All I had left was a puddle of mucky looking water and no warm bubbly yeast. Sad. :-(. I sprinkled in a little more sugar, flour and yeast and warmed up the oven in the hopes of “getting it going again”.

I left the dough mixture covered on the stove all day instead of in the fridge.

Cinnamon Scrolls - mixture

When I got home, the dough had expanded to fill to bowl. Woot.

It’s that lurid yellow colour from the biodynamic egg.

Do you know how hard it is to roll up a 1cm thick piece of dough into a neat, tight roll? My goodness. I did my best, but it was a bit of a poor affair.

Cinnamon Scrolls - rolling

The muffin tins are used to constrain the buns into the tight little spiral, and help pull it up.

Cinnamon Scrolls - left to rise

So here are the buns:

Cinnamon Scrolls - Ta Da!

They look good, don’t they?

I was a little disappointed though. They weren’t sweet enough! They tasted like a crispy bread roll with a slight taste of cinnamon. I didn’t think to make a caramel topping or an icing sugar glaze to remedy the lack of sugar.

So for next time:

My biggest tip here is: go crazy with the cinnamon sugar. I made 5 tablespoons of cinnamon sugar, and probably used 1 tablespoon for approximately 600g of dough. Use a lot more. Go wild.

Second Pro tip is: bake them quickly. If you leave 1/4 a roll to sit on the bench whilst your other muffin tin is otherwise occupied, it will start to leak water because the sugar will suck the water out of the dough.

Leave a Reply

