Reuben Hills Cafe , Surry Hills

I have heard great things about Reuben Hills, so it was time to check it out for myself.

Reuben Hills

It was busy on a weekday lunchtime, but not so that I had to wait.

I was seated at the communal table near the garage door, and confronted with a terrible choice. Firstly, what to eat, and secondly: if I had one of their famed milkshakes, I would have no space for gelato from gelato messina. The shake menu changes on a weekly basis; I remember seeing coconut & lime, and rosewater and lychee.

Communal Table

I asked for a recommendation, and the waitress said that the watermelon salad was nice and very fresh (and it did look very nice on a neighbouring table), the crab tacos had a yummy corn-based slaw: but this was different to the slaw that came with the corn tortillas. A couple on the communal table ordered the F-Ing Great Chicken in a basket. This looked like big chunky strips of chicken in a pale orange batter, with a dipping sauce and some fried chillies. I had to take a sneaky pic:

Fried Chicken

It may have tasted F-Ing Great.

After some dithering, I settled on:

1. Cold pour over coffee ($7.5):
This was described in the menu as: peachy tea, fruity.

2. Not the Reuben ($16)
This was described in the menu as: wagyu salt brisket, pickled slaw, manchego & horseradish cream on rye.

The water bottles were reusable 1 pint glass ones, originally used for milk. Where on earth did they source those from?

The Not-Reuben, although ordered second, arrived first in a pretty red plastic basket.

Not The Reuben

On top was a half radish which had been dipped in a chipotle salt which provided a nice contrast to the sandwich. The slaw had a slight gherkin like quality – as though the coleslaw had used leftover pickles water to loosen up the mayonnaise. This was very mouth-filling and moreish, and the horseradish cream added a little bit of a hot bite every now and then. The wagyu beef brisket had been nicely seared and had lots of caramelised crunchy bits to enjoy.

The cold pour over coffee was served in a white granite-like flask, with little foamy bubbles on top – from the nitrogen liquid cooling no doubt. It smelled as though I was biting into a roasted coffee bean; but it tasted like I had left my drip filter coffee sitting on the table all day and it had turned sour. I’m glad I tried it.

Cold Pour Over

I shall have to go again another time, and forego gelato for a shake!

Leave a Reply

