Cafe Blue, Launceston

Where to go in Launceston when it’s late afternoon and you want a bite to eat?

Cafe Blue provided the answer!

Walking across from the city to Inversek was an interesting excercise. Apart from one sign at the carpark entry, it was devilishly difficult to find. We were on the point of giving up, when we came upon it by chance. All I can offer in terms of additional directions is to walk through the guts of the carpark, and its on your left before the School of Visual and Performing Arts.

It was lovely and cosy inside for a drizzly winter day. First up was coffee. They use locally sourced Elgar Farm organic milk. Since I’m on the soy bandwagon at the moment, I didn’t get to try it.

We decided to get a woodfired pizza topped with rocket, pumpkin and Parmesan to share, plus an iceberg lettuce salad.

The pizza came served in a wooden platter and was crispy and flavourful. It was about 15cm in diameter.

The salad was just lettuce topped with a vinegarette and toasted sesame seeds. This sounds simple but was also very moreish. There was something extra in the vinegarette, perhaps sesame oil, that I had to restrain myself not to lick the serving bowl.

Next time I’m in Launceston, I am definitely returning to try other dishes on offer.

Proof that high quality ingredients, served simply are often the best!

I promise you that I took pictures. They weren’t backed up. Then I lost my phone upon which these pictures had been taken. Bye-bye photos.

Cafe Blue
2 Invermay Road, Invermay (part of University of Tasmania)
Inveresk precinct
Launceston, Tasmania
Mon-Thu: 0800-1600
Fri-Sat: 0800- late, dinner menu available
Sun: 0800 – 1700.

Leave a Reply

