Reuse, recycle

Do you remember these?

Index File Card Drawer

File Index card systems used for cataloging items like book records in libraries.

Some people I knew were throwing a whole bunch of these out. Including new, unused index cards and alphabetical dividers wrapped in brown paper. *brown paper*.

Index File Cards

I couldn’t let them go to waste – I just knew they would end up in some antique/curio shop at an exorbitant price for adding that industrial touch to your warehouse conversion.

So I rescued some, with no concrete idea of what to do with them.

Then I had a brainwave. What do you think?

This will be used for seed storage.

Previously I have been throwing my packets of seeds in a random manner in a cardboard box that I also used for jam jar storage. I had to scrabbble through the box looking for seeds. Now they are in a drawer that I can flick through easily and see what I can plant today.

Seed Storage

What would you have done?

One response to this post.

  1. I also would have acquired them – I do love that sort of thing.
    Not sure what I would have found to use them for, but seed storage seems like an ingenious idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

