Swede and delicious

Look at these swedes I picked up from the farmers markets over the weekend:Swedes
Aren’t they handsome?

It was also the first time I’ve seen such wonderful greenery attached to a swede, and the first time I have *ahem* bought a swede.

First up, I wanted to confirm I could eat the green tops. They looked a lot like the Chinese brocoli or gai lan.

Thiswebsite said I could, so why not try cooking like gai lan?

First, washed the greens. I separated the stalks and leaves, and then cut each into 2-5cm bite size pieces. Throw finely sliced ginger into a hot fry pan with some oil. Once you can smell the ginger aroma add in the stalks with a little water and cover with a lid. Once the stalks are approaching al dente status, add the leaves and cover again. When the leaves have wilted, add a little soy sauce, stir around, and serve with a sprinkle of sesame seeds.

Swede Greens

Verdict?

Delicious! The swede greens didn’t have a strong or bitter taste like I was expecting. They also weren’t tough and stringy at the bottom ends like gai lan can sometimes get. I would definitely cook them again.

I also found this recipe for roasted swede with Parmesan.

The only trick that I did different was that I parboiled my swedes first for about 15 minutes. This was then popped into the oven for another 15 to toast the edges.

Swede Chips

I did try again later as per recipe, but I found the sweded chips tough and still undercooked.

A lovely way to eat your winter greens!

Leave a Reply

