Milk

The majority of milk in the Australian market is made either by Parmalat (Italian-owned); or National Foods owned by Kirin Brewing (Japan) which bought out the Dairy Farmers co-operative.

Usually I try and buy something made by a local producer at the farmers markets, an Australian owned company; or if I have to go to a supermarket, the A2 milk by Freedom Foods.

I hadn’t heard of ultra-pastuerisation until I started reading a book about making your own cheese.

Ultra pasteurisation means that the milk is heated to higher than normal temperatures than in normal pasteurisation to give a longer shelf life – it can last up to 28 days in the refrigerator. This allows large milk companies to buy out the smaller ones and transport it all across the country. The protein structure is damaged and the enzymes are destroyed during the extra heating process. You might as well drink water. You cannot use this milk to make cheese. It sounds as though it is a compromise between fresh milk and UHT carton milk.

This is why I was shocked when I read this choice article which told me that:

    Just Organic (Aldi) and You’ll Love Coles Organic Milk are … ultrapasteurised to give them an extended use-by date.

Doesn’t this go against the whole principle of “organic foods”?!!??

5 responses to this post.

  1. Yes, I was pretty disgusted to read it on the packaging too.
    I do use UHT for yoghurt, marscapone and other fresh cheeses. It works fine for those.

    Reply

  2. have you check the link to the Choice article? Can’t find the quote about Aldi and Coles’ organic milks being ultrapasteurized… Wonder if it’s been removed? I’ve always wondered why even the organic milks can have such a long shelf date. Seems the best, and most realistic used by date is Paul’s organic, which usually gives it about 10 days. How can organic milk I bought yesterday have used by date that is the end of may??!! That’s almost 2 months!?!

    Reply

    • I found this in the original 2009 magazine article. Since then (6 years later!) , Choice have redesigned and reshuffled their website, and also updated the “what to buy” suggestions on their website.
      In any case, if you see “fresh milk” in the fridge with a use-by date of more than two weeks from when you purchase it, I would be suspicious.

      Reply

      • thanks for getting back to me. Yes, I usually try to avoid anything with a long shelf life. Can’t believe they can get away with it.

Leave a Reply

