Adventures in Centrepoint Charlie

So! This is one of those things I have been meaning to blog about for ages.

I visited the Westfield remake of centrepoint foodcourt when it was partially opened in October 2010.

The biggest star for me was the producers burger ($16 in/ $14 T/A) from Charlie and Co, the gourmet burger off shoot of the Becasse mob.
Charlie & Co

This had a gorgeous juicy fat field mushroom and haloumi cheese on a lovely soft bun which had a crisp outside shell. I visited again in September 2011 when more of the glamour food court had opened. This time the giant mushroom had been replaced by several smaller mushrooms, the overall effect still tasty.

The truffle and cheese fries ($8 in/$6 out) were crispy skinny and golden French fries with a light grating of truffle infused hard cheese on top.

The effect was more of a heady aroma rather than a taste sensation. After having tried them, I’m craving to re-experience that heady aroma, but I can’t fit in both burger and fries in one sitting.

The food court itself is all black marble, glass and chrome. It gets really noisy during the lunchtime rush, with all that chattering bouncing off the hard surfaces. Added to that are the extensive waiting times – I waited over 40 minutes from starting to queue to actually picking up my order. The most popular order seemed to be hot dogs from The snag shack. I wonder why?

So the third time I visited I tried the rustic burger($18 in/$16 out) to try something different.

Charlie & Co

Chorizo, roast capsicum, a fried egg and what possibly was a smoked chipotle sauce – but didn’t taste like much. I’m afraid I didn’t really like this one much – I found that the capsicum added an unpleasant bitter flavour to the burger, and that the chorizo wasn’t very spicy.

I have bere inspecting the baked goods from the newly opened Becasse Bakery associated with the relocated Becasse. The prices were quite high, like at the airport! I found nothing super inspiring, and a lot of fancy cakes and tarts like at Becco Patisserie. I had overdosed on these a few years ago, so it wasn’t until I saw this:

Becasse bread

Banana tart with salted caramel, That I was inspired to buy.

Aw man. The topping is like honeycomb ‘violet crumble’. The filling was so bannana-ry (‘bannoffe pie’) was it real?
I also grabbed a half loaf of seven-seeded bread. This had quinoa or cornmeal on the outside, which made it quite hard going to eat.

Charlie & Co burgers
Shop, level 5 Westfield Centrepoint
Pitt street Sydney City (also at the Opera House)
Open till 9pm

Becasse Bakery
Shop, level 5 Westfield Centrepoint
Pitt street, Sydney City

Leave a Reply

