Fruit Fly Exclusion

So sick of my tomatoes ending up with little grubby worms (fruit fly), I bought some fruit fly exclusion bags. I have tried plastic bags over bunches of grapes before, but they ended up moulding inside the bag, and the rats got to them anyway.

To try out the theory, I bought two organza “wedding bonbonniere” type things from Spotlight. These were $2.90 for two of 16cm x 11cm; or $10 for 10 of 16cm by 11cm.

Yes, I know, I am late in the season, but my tomatoes are still going!

These were a little small for my giant compost-derived tomatoes, who ended up bursting their bags, but they did their job. Not only did it stop the fruit fly from landing and stinging the fruit, it captured the little larvae worms – they couldn’t drop down into the soil and pupate into more fruit fly. *It stopped the cycle*.

WOO HOO.

So I ended up getting some more from ebay. Including shipping, it cost me $18.20 for 20 bags of 20cm by 30cm. You can put whole branches in the bag, rather than one fruit.

Fruit exclusion bags

The first thing I noticed was the drawstring was made of a skinny string that was tough on the fingers to use. You need to make sure the bag opening is tight and doesn’t allow the fruit fly in, but also that the material is loose around the fruit and the fruit fly can’t land on the bag and sting your fruit through it.

I much prefer to use the organza bags – you pull the ribbon on either side, and it cinches it up a treat. I may end up replacing the string in the other bags with a ribbon.

Leave a Reply

