Kohlrabi coleslaw

I bought a kohlrabi at the weekend markets. It looked nice. I have never eaten or cooked with kohlrabi before.

Stephanie had nothing.

So I had to go to the ‘net. There was not much there either, most of them seemed to involve Indian flavours or deep frying.

Thus, I settled on a coleslaw-style salad.

Recipe is based on one found from A Vegie Venture

I have marked my changes from the original with an asterix(*).

Kohlrabi and apple style coleslaw with yoghourt dressing
Preparation time: 25 minutes
Serves two as a side.

DRESSING
1/2 kohlrabi (200g)*
1 apple (equivalent in weight to kohlrabi)
1/4 cup plain yoghourt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 tablespoon good mustard
1 tablespoon baby capers in salt, soaked in hot water*
Table spoon of home made beet root pickle, chopped*
Two sprigs fresh mint, chopped

Mix plain yoghourt with lemon juice, mustard, lemon juice to taste. I added a little apple cider vinegar.

kohlrabi grated

As you grate the kohlrabi and the apple, add it to the dressing and mix through so that it doesn’t oxidise and go brown.

1/2 fresh kohlrabi, trimmed, peeled, and grated. Keep it whole, and just grate as-is with a coarse grater
Coarsly grate the apple and mix through.

The original recipe says that this can be used similar to celeriac remoulade, and that they are interchangeable.

Bah-Baow.

I found that the kohlrabi grates a lot finer than the celeriac even when using the same grater. This turned into quite a wet salad, and I decided at the last minute to add the extra pickles and capers for interest in taste and texture. I actually prefer the celeriac as a coleslaw. Perhaps if I had used a tart apple like a granny smith, this would have worked better. It is also important to peel it, as I found tough woody bits in my salad, probably from where the stems joined the ball.

kohlrabi salad

I still have half a kohlrabi to play with…

5 responses to this post.

  1. I like it when used similar to water chestnuts. Beef mince stir fried with green beans and kohlrabi with sweet soy and chilli – yum!

    Reply

    • Hmm. Next time I am lured by the shiny kohlrabi, I will try your recipe. It sounds like a large amount of water chestnut substitute!

      Reply

  2. You could make a remoulade (which is basically a coleslaw), but since it tastes like broccoli stems, you can use it in stir fries and things in the same way you’d use broccoli, eg with chicken and oyster sauce and cashews.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ali on December 22, 2012 at 08:44

    I’m looking for a kohlrabi in Sydney – could you please share the location of your local market?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

