Anzac Biscuits

Anzac Biscuits by A Sydney Foodie2
Anzac Biscuits, a photo by A Sydney Foodie2 on Flickr.

Anzac Day requires the baking of Anzac Biscuits. No, not cookies,
biscuits.

I got the recipe from taste, but of
course I had to go and change it, didn’t I?

I wanted something chewy, but not raw, so I thought I would play with the
oats.

Always a tinkerer, that’s me. Changes are indicated with an asterix (*).


Ingredients
1 1/4 cups plain flour
1 cup rolled oats*
1/2 cup coconut sugar*
3/4 cup shredded coconut* (I used walnuts. Yes, blasphemous I know).
2 tablespoons golden syrup or treacle*
150g unsalted butter, chopped
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

Method
1. Soak half the oats in buttermilk. I used a combination of yoghourt,
milk, and apple cider vinegar.
2. Preheat oven to 170°C.
3. Place the flour, oats, sugar and coconut in a large bowl and stir to
combine.
4. In a small saucepan place the golden syrup and butter and stir over low
heat until the butter has fully melted.
5. Mix the bicarbonate of soda with 1 1/2 tablespoons water and add to the
golden syrup mixture. It will bubble whilst you are stirring together so
remove from the heat.
6. Pour into the dry ingredients and mix together until fully combined. 7.
Roll tablespoonfuls of mixture into balls and place on baking trays lined
with non stick baking paper, pressing down on the tops to flatten slightly.
Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.

I didn’t have any golden syrup to hand, so I used maple syrup and coconut
sugar instead. All up, it smelled like golden syrup would’ve, but next time
I’ll add some blackstrap molasses to get that caramelised taste.

The coconut sugar made the mixture a lot wetter than normal, so I had to
add several tablespoons of plain flour to dry it out. I might have added up
to ten tablespoons!
Anzac Biscuits by A Sydney Foodie2
Anzac Biscuits, a photo by A Sydney Foodie2 on Flickr.

And don’t forget the shredded coconut.

The country women’s association recipe includes the zest of one lemon.
It was noted that perhaps next time I should add some frosting in between
so that they would be a ‘melting moment’ style of biscuit. Yes, they were
that buttery.

Lest we forget.

Leave a Reply

