Green Tomato Relish

The weather in Sydney this summer has been really bad for growing anything other than mould. My marmoude tomatoes have been beset by fruit fly and snails. It has been so depressing – of the 1.5kg of green tomato I harvested to make this relish, 50% were rotten or had a little white worm inside.

This recipe is delicious. I could not stop ‘taste testing’ it, it was so moreish. I think it has something to do with the mellowing of the apple cider vinegar.

Green tomato relish recipe from farm girl fare

ingredients
800g green tomatoes, chopped
200g white onions, chopped
300g red banana chillies, bull horn capsicum or normal capsicum deseeded and chopped
1/2 lb. tart cooking apples, such as ‘Granny Smith’, cored and chopped
6 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 cup organic apple cider vinegar
1 Tablespoon sea salt*
4 jalapeno chillies cored, seeded if desired, and chopped
2 Tablespoons chopped coriander*
1 teaspoon ground cumin (optional)

Combine the tomatoes, onions, peppers, apples, garlic, vinegar, and salt in a large pot and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until thickened, about an hour.

Meanwhile, sterilise your jars. Wash them in hot soapy water, boil them for at least 10 minutes, and dry them in a warm oven (160 deg C) until you’re ready. Take care with the seals, if it is a two piece lid, the bit with the seal doesn’t go in the oven.

Stir in the chillies, coriander and cumin and simmer for 5 more minutes. Purée the mixture using a stick blender.

Green tomato relish

I like my relish chunky; so puree half the pot at most, and then mix through so it is evenly distributed.

Grab your jars from the oven (don’t burn yourself!) and fill carefully using a tablespoon., leaving a 2cm headroom. Wipe any spills on the rim and seal the jar.

This made enough for three off 500ml jars for keeping, and one to have in the fridge for eating straight away.

Green tomato relish

I actually first made this relish last year. This was after I moved a tomato plant from a 20cm pot to a giant planter box just before winter, and had an enormous crop of green tomatoes. On the left is the green tomato relish, on the right are two jars of guava prepared in the same way.

*I found that if you don’t use the coriander, the mix needs a touch more salt. Add an extra 1/2 tablespoon to compensate. I also think the relish is delicious as-is without the cumin.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Louise Sinclair on October 25, 2012 at 21:36

    Hello,

    Where in Sydney can you buy green tomatoes from?? We can’t find them anywere.

    Kind regards,

    Louise

    Reply

    • Hi Lousie, I used green tomatoes from my garden. I do remember reading a similar question in good living: I think the response was a greengrocer on the north shore. If I find out anymore I’ll let you know!

      Reply

  2. […] one side I spread spicy mayo, on the other I used my green tomato pickle (instead of dill […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

