Buy nothing new month: day twenty is twice two plus a refreshing salad

Gee, this outfit looks terribly familiar. For details, see day two.

Buy nothing new month day twenty: um de dum

So instead, lets talk food. More specifically, Fennel Salad.

I grabbed this out of my friend H’s book Chef at Home, by chef Michael Smith from Prince Edward Island. Well, whilst waiting for someone to get ready, what else do you do but browse their recipe books?

His version just has the sliced fennel and the lemon dressing.

Salad
1 bulb fennel, tops & woody core removed and sliced very thinly
1 avocado, cut into chunks
2 ripe tomatoes, cut into bite sized pieces
Various lettuce leaves

Lemon salad dressing
Zest and juice of one lemon
1 tablespoon honey
Splash of good olive oil
Pinch of sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper
(my addition) 1-2 teaspoons hot water

Slice the fennel really thinly (or coarsely grate it). After peeling each ‘leaf’ off the core, I used my bread knife to get the thin slices because the knife stays sharp. The leftovers went into a freezer ziplock bag for future stock.

I thought I would get bored with just the fennel taste, so I added fresh picked silverbeet leaves, avocado, and tomato.

With the dressing, I would suggest adding 1-2 teaspoons of hot water to help the honey loosen up.

Result:
Fennel salad

Delicious! I’m glad I added the extra salad ingredients, it all worked very well together. Aniseed-like flavour of the fennel would have been too much on its own, and was well set off by the creaminess of the avocado, and the slight bitterness of the silverbeet.
I actually found the dressing a bit too sweet for me; and it was interesting how my tastebuds found the sweet, salty and zest flavours, and totally ignored the sour! The dressing reminds me a lot of panfried goats cheese salad, also obtained from H. Not surprising since there is honey in both!

Leave a Reply

