Scented Geraniums

I helped a friend lay out part of her garden, and one of the plants we got were lemon scented geraniums. I have always liked these, because there is something just so annoying about a standard geranium. They’re boring and they’re not useful!

Luckily, since we bought out all the nursery’s stock for my friend’s garden, my neighbour gave me some cuttings. I am embarrassed to say: I don’t know what exactly they smelled like, except scented! Not rose, not cinnamon, just scented.

Scented Geraniums

The hot weather has just started, not ideal for cuttings, so I snipped the majority of the leaves off to reduce transpiration, and planted the stalk with the first segment/branch below the soil surface level. They have survived a week thus far.

What to do with all the remaining scented geranium leaves? Bake muffins!

Recipe was taken from geraniums online.

HOT MUFFIN BASIC RECIPE

2 cups flour
3 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. sugar
1 egg, well beaten
1 c. milk
4 tbsp. oil
Geranium leaves

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.
In a separate bowl, combine egg, milk and oil. Add to dry ingredients.
Stir just until mixed; batter will still be lumpy. Place a geranium leaf in the bottom of 14* greased muffin tins. Fill 2/3 full with batter. Bake 25 minutes at 220 degrees Celsius.

* I used 12 muffin tins, but I wasn’t very exact with the filling.

I poured half of the mix into the tins, then added some dessicated coconut and pistachios since I thought the mixture rather boring.

Scented geranium muffins

The end result was really quite pretty. The heat and oil in the muffin tin “cooked” the geranium leaf. I can see what was supposed to happen: The heat was supposed to permeate the scent throughout the muffin mix – didn’t work. Don’t know why this recipe doesn’t have shredded bits of geranium leaf through it – like this other recipe.

Next time? Make scented geranium sugar, ala “vanilla pod” sugar, and use that. Also, try a variant with shredded bits of geranium leaf. If my cuttings take root, I should have plenty of leaves to play with.

Leave a Reply

