Great Guava Roundup

Here is a photo of my guava tree.

Three weeks later, I have:

* harvested 14 -21 kg of fruit
* introduced many people to the delights of pink guavas
* inspired several people to grow their own guava trees (I haven’t told them about the 30 year waiting period)
* spent six full days in the kitchen prepping, boiling sterilizing, baking
* made 20 various jars of guava jelly, jam & butter
* baked varieties of guava tart, torte and bread (shame it doesn’t start with ‘T’)

For completeness, I’ll mention that an Indian acquaintance used some of the guavas to make a savoury guava juice using lemon juice and pepper.

While hunting for that recipe, I found a recipe for an Indian-style guava chutney.. Hmm, I might have to try that next year.

And how could I forget: the snow egg from Quay, as featured as a challenge on the masterchef tv show!

Now, please, no mention of guavas for at least six months.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by L on July 7, 2011 at 13:24

    Thanks for posting the picture. I have such little imagination 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

