Guava Bread

Are you tired of guava related posts yet?

Thankfully now when I look up into my tree, I see fewer yellow globes waiting to hit me on the head, and the daily harvest is smaller.

Well I just had the most brilliant idea. Guava bread.

I was trying to find the banana bread recipe from the blog that was something like ‘living on $200 food budget per fortnight’*. Instead I ended up at africhef

Guava bread.
3 mixing bowls
1.5 cups of cooked guava (leftover from the guava jelly)
2 eggs
2 cups processed bran sticks similar to All-Bran cereal
2 cups plain flour
¾ cup brown sugar
½ cup softened butter (approx 30grams)
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
½ tsp salt
Walnuts to decorate

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

In bowl one, sift together the flour, baking powder, bicarb soda and salt.

In the second bowl, combine the processed bran sticks and squashed cooked guava in a separate bowl and let this mixture stand for approx 5 minutes.

In your main mixing bowl, crumble the butter and sugar together, fold in the eggs and then the guava/cereal mixture. Mix well.

Add in the sifted flour gradually to the guava/bran bowl and mix until the flour is evenly distributed through the mixture.

Guava Bread: Prep

, a photo by A Sydney Foodie on Flickr.

The resultant mixture was very very sticky.

I have no loaf pan, so I greased a 15x15cm square pan and lined it with baking paper.

The bread mixture was dolloped in. Walnuts were added after each ‘dollop’. The mix didn’t want to leave the mixing bowl, it was that sticky.

Place in the preheated oven and bake the guava bread for 60 minutes (timing from original recipe). I suggest starting at 30 minutes, and checking every 10 minutes.

When a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean it is all cooked. It looked quite consistent all over in colour, so I glazed it with cold guava jelly/rosewater leftover from the guava and macadamia torte, and returned to the oven for 5 minutes.

Remove the guava bread from the oven and allow to cool for 5 mins in the tin. Turn out onto a rack to complete cooling, and remove baking paper immediately so it doesn’t stick.

Guava Bread

, a photo by A Sydney Foodie on Flickr.

Serve with as-is, or with guava butter or jelly!

Verdict: Yum! The glazing added some nice caramel sticky bits, and the walnuts gave nutty crunchy goodness. The guava bread was a little bit sweet, but not overly sweet or oily like banana bread can be. I must be immune to guava flavour now, because I couldn’t find any!

Lessons learned and possible modifications? As mentioned before my guava bread was a bit overcooked. Cook for less time! I would add some spices like cinnamon, allspice or nutmeg which would add another nice dimension. Because there was no in your face guava flavour, I might try using fresh grated guava next time for a proper guava flavour.

*this is the banana bread recipe I was looking for.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by L on June 29, 2011 at 13:09

    I would love to see a photo of this magnificent guava tree of yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

