Guava and Macadamia Nut Torte

After I declared my over-abundant guava crop, I received several links to this recipe by Steve Manfredi in 2007 on cuisine.com.au.

My friend Sarah managed to beat me in trying out the recipe.

I’ve modified it, because I didn’t see the sense in trying extract seeds after you’ve pureed the fruit – seems like a lot of fruity goodness would be wasted. Don’t forget to save the little soft bit in the middle of the seed ball as your own reward.

This was made with a small chopping bowl that comes with my stick blender, as I don’t have a food processor as such.

Guava and macadamia nut torte
400g de-seeded guavas
80g macadamia nuts, processed to a rough meal
150g self raising flour
100g raw sugar
125g softened butter
1 egg
1/2 tablespoon of molasses
2 tablespoon good sipping tequila, rum or whiskey
Slivered almonds for decoration
2 tbsp jam for glazing
Rosewater or orange juice for glazing

Reserving 3 guavas, blend the rest into chunky strips. I had to do this in two batches because my chopper bowl is small.

Guava Torte: Prep, a photo by A Sydney Foodie on Flickr.

Crumbled the butter and sugar together. Add the egg and molasses, and mix until combined. Add the guava puree, and stir through. Sift the baking powder with the flour and add this gradually to the wet mix, mixing to combine. Finally, stir in the ground macadamia meal.
Oil, and then line the base of your tin with baking paper and dust with flour.
I had some leftover sour cream pastry from my guava tarts, so I lined the edge of my 25cm quiche/flan tin with the pastry and stuck it in the freezer for 20 minutes. Bake for approx 10 minutes until the crust edge is a light brown, then remove from oven.
Pour the torte mix into the cake tin. Decorate with thin slices of the reserved guava and slivered almonds.
Bake at 180 degrees C for 40 minutes. The original recipe states 30 minutes, but my cake was still terribly soggy at that stage.

For the cake glaze, warm a 2 tablespoons of jam (guava jelly, naturally) on the stove with a splash of rosewater. I thought that if I used the tequila again, it would overpower the glaze. When the glaze is warm, brush over the top of the cake.

I then returned the cake to the oven for another five minutes to set the glaze.

Cool the torte on a wire rack, serve with yoghurt or cream.

Guava Torte, a photo by A Sydney Foodie on Flickr.

I had a lot of fun trying to dislodge the torte from the tin, flipping the cake onto the plate to remove the baking paper before it stuck permanently, and then letting the torte cool from underneath. I then of course had to flip it again so it was right side up. This dislodged and broke more pastry bits off.

Verdict: tastes delicious, and reports were that it was very guava-like in flavour. I unfortunately seem to have become immune to guava taste though! The pastry crust went very well: and would’ve been quite elegant if I hadn’t broken it. The overall effect wasn’t too sweet, and goes quite well with vanilla yoghurt which cut through the richness. The rosewater and jam made me go ‘ew’ when I tasted it on its own, but worked quite well as a glaze.

Lessons learned and possible modifications? I would use less butter, maybe 100grams. I think a lot of the perceived cake ‘sogginess’ was because the butter was still bubbling away. I would also consider substituting cooked guava (the cake still seemed a bit raw and undercooked); and pre-toasting the almonds for a nuttier flavour prior to decorating the torte.

Leave a Reply

