Walnut Tarts with sour cream Pastry

I’ve never made pastry from scratch. Always in the past I have bought puff or filo from the freezer section in the supermarket, using the pieces over a couple of months. Even when I made a pumpkin pie, for a Pushing Daisies* DVD marathon, I went and bought short crust pastry with its very own disposable baking tray.
So having settled in a beef bourguignon bubbling away in the oven (thanks, Stephanie), yorkshire pudding batter ready to go, I was looking for something else to do.

Stephanie says:
Sour Cream Pastry
1 cup plain flour
Pinch of salt
125g unwanted butter
2 tablespoons sour cream

Sift flour and salt, then rub in butter until crumbly. Add sour cream and work together lightly. Chill for 30 minutes. Roll out thinly.

The pastry was really tough to roll out. I used my ceramic pizza tile as the rolling surface, but everything got all stuck. Should’ve used flour to prep the surface! I ended up rolling bits, scraping them off the tile and squishing into my sample quiche tins. This filled six 11cm quiche tins, which I put in the fridge over night.

Now what to fill the cases with?

Joy of Cooking, that American stalwart gave some inspiration.

nut tart filling
Beat until light 3 egg yolks, and add in gradually 1 cup of raw sugar.
Stir in 1/2 cup of almond meal and 1/2 cup walnuts broken into smaller pieces.
Stir in 1 tablespoon of lemon juice.
Fold in 2 stiffly beaten eggs.

This should actually use 3 eggs and 1&1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice. I also added in a splash of vanilla essence.

My proportions are a bit out of whack because I had a spare egg yolk. I put a tiny amount of sugar in the egg whites to try and get them to fix their peaks, but they didn’t want to cooperate. The Rombauer’s also want you to use nut meal, but I was looking something more like a pecan pie. The amount of filling I made was perfect enough for my five quiche tins. Next time, I would use more nuts!

I wasn’t sure if you were supposed to, but I blind baked the pastry. I then filled the cases with the nut mix and baked for just short on 20 minutes in a 180 degree C oven.

Oh my. After turning these out on a rack to cool. These were delicious. The pastry was very rich and crispy and crumbly: the filling was not too sweet with a light vanilla flavour (I used my Vanilla Australia essence), and the fluffy egg mix held everything together. Yummo!
I will certainly be making pastry again, and I’ll be making nut tarts again!
*In the tv series Pushing Daisies, the lead is a baker with a pie shop called the pie hole

One response to this post.

  1. […] Pastry I made sour cream pastry. However perhaps because of the humidity, I needed 1.5 cups of plain flour to the butter and sour […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

