Castle Hill Markets

Castle Hill Markets by A Sydney Foodie
Castle Hill Markets, a photo by A Sydney Foodie on Flickr.

I love farmers markets. I’m used to running into town to visit the Eveleigh markets at Redfern or Orange Grove markets at Rozelle, but it was such an effort to get to. So you can imagine how excited I was when I heard about markets going on at Rouse Hill, and then how disappointed I was when they were cancelled.
So, I finally got off my butt and went to the Castle Hill market after getting a recommendation from a colleague.
I’m glad I went! There was cheese from Willowbrae, La Tartine bread (nom nom nom), Sweetness the patisserie, hunter valley pasta, Saltbush lamb, and organics from Nashdale NSW.
The markets on the second Saturday have a few more producers than the fourth Saturday, but the ones listed above are regulars.
One week, we met up with Russell and Mary from Vanilla Australia who were on a six week promotional tour, and living in a tent the whole time. I bought a bottle of their organic vanilla essence, which has been delicious in cookies, without that fake aftertaste you get from supermarket vanilla essence.
Hawkesbury Harvest Farmers Market
Castle Hill Showground
Harvey Lowe Pavilion
Doran Drive, Castle Hill
2nd & 4th Sat, 8am-12noon

Leave a Reply

