Recipe: Broccoli, Zucchini and Blue Cheese Soup

Broccoli, Zucchini and Blue Cheese Soup

I first tasted this soup when driving Sydney to Newcastle and stopping at the twin servos at Tuggerah. They have onsite, a health food chain “oliver’s”, which serves fabulous Allpress coffee, and fast food snacks of the less refined sugar quality such as sushi, soups and wraps.
I grabbed a bowl of broccoli and blue cheese soup which was quite tasty, and *very* hard to eat whilst zooming down the highway. Made a refreshing change from plastic burgers from which you are hungry again after one hour.
I didn’t think of it again until recently, when the weather turned cold again and I felt like soup. I bought 3 heads of broccoli and a wedge of ‘Danish blue’ cheese, and then went home to make this recipe from the taste website.

Preparation Time
15 – 25 minutes

Cooking Time
20 minutes

Ingredients (serves 4)
1 tbs olive oil
1 leek, white part only, sliced
1 head broccoli, coarsely chopped
2 zucchini, trimmed, chopped
1 pontiac potato, peeled, finely chopped
4 cups (1 litre) vegetable or chicken stock
75g mild blue cheese, crumbled
1/3 cup (80ml) thin cream

I didn’t have any leeks, so I used one large onion, and a grey (light green) zucchini that looked like a football. My potatoes were leftover roast potato, equivalent to two potatoes. I used two heads of the broccoli, reserving some when just cooked for colour and garnish, and I left the two stalks chunky and halved – wanting to add the flavour without having the pain of fishing out the small bits. This is me learning lessons from my asparagus soup experience.

Anyway, I cooked this for about 20 mins, until soft and then blended it with cubed bits of the Danish blue cheese.

The result was very blue in flavour and quite thick in texture – possibly because of the extra roast potato I had added. The flavour was more intense than the bowl from Oliver’s. I might make this one again but with less blue cheese. Or even some fresh goat cheese. Nom!

Leave a Reply

