Sweet Potato Adventures


Sweet Potato Adventures

Originally uploaded by A Sydney Foodie

I was reading blogs linked to other blogs when I found bakeanddestroy.net, and a recipe for sweet potato cookies.
To an Aussie, sticking sweet potato and pumpkin in sweet things is just plain weird. Like pineapple on pizza or sultanas in carrotslaw (or carrotslaw itself) I just don’t get it.
Anyway I saw this recipe, and the piccies looked so yummy I wanted to
make them straight away. I made this using my half-cup measurement, so the quantities were essentially halved.

2 1/4 cups plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbs ground cinnamon
1 Tbs ground ginger
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 large egg
3/4 cup cooked & mashed sweet potato
2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
1/4 cup pecan halves
Then you:

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger and pepper in a medium bowl, set aside. Cream the butter & brown sugar until light & fluffy. Add the egg & sweet potato & beat well. Add the flour mixture & blend well. Form the dough into a flat disk, wrap in plastic wrap & refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Pre-heat your oven to 325 degrees farenheit (170 deg C) & butter 2 cookie sheets. Roll the dough out on a floured surface to 3/8″ thick.
Cut with a 3″ round or flower shaped cookie cutter. Place the cookies 2″ apart on the cookie sheets.

Brush the cookies with egg whites and press a pecan half into the center of each one. Bake 15-18 minutes, until lightly browned. Let cook on the pans for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cook completely.

Step one – probably don’t use purple sweet potato. My uncooked mixture turned an unappetising grey colour. I also had to explain away the purple bits as not being blueberries.

I don’t keep ground ginger around the house, so I substituted Chinese allspice and 3/4 tsp ground cassia bark (I gave up grating at this point) for the cinnamon/ginger.

I baked for 20 minutes at 170 degrees celsius.

The end result was quite delicious and crispy when eaten straight after peeling them off the baking paper. They did not taste like sweet potato at all. The next day, my cookies were a bit more like muffins, probably as a result of using self raising flour. The sweet potato chunks were chewy gems like semi-dried fruit.

I would probably make these again if I had some leftover sweet potato, but I don’t think I would go out of my way to make them again. Was it the purple of sweet potato?

Leave a Reply

