Review: Guzman Y Gomez, Newtown

Time to take a little break from Reverb10!

I had meant to go to Izote Mexican restaurant for dinner, but they looked
full-up and I wanted a quick meal, so I went to Goman y Gomez Mexican
takeaway instead.

This mob have been here for a while, even opening up a branch at the New
Westfield Centrepoint food court. It’s kind of like a fast and furious food
Mexican takeaway, with alcohol available as a tequila slushie or as a beer.

In the USA, particularly in California, you see these Mexican food wagons
everywhere. Pulled up into parking lots, or running around providing food
for construction sites. The less than polite nickname for them is the “chuck
wagon”.

This is the first time that I’ve been to Goman y Gomez, and it was crowded
and loud!

This was the first time I have gone to Guzman, so I didn’t know what to
pick. After pondering the menu, I got a Pork chipotle burrito with
guacamole. The guacamole costs $1 extra, and you don’t get very much,
perhaps a tablespoon full. The burrito itself took about 10 minutes to
prepare and felt very very heavy. You can also get a burrito in a bowl, the
supposed “lighter” option because it doesn’t come with a tortilla.

The burrito was very tasty, but not as hot (if at all) as the menu warned.
It was heavy going – I can see why you would get the mini-B for $6.90. The
black beans were small and interesting. It is hard to get non-tinned black
beans in Australia, the recommendation when cooking Mexican is to use “Black
Turtle Beans” which are larger and coarser. The beans in the burritos appear to be a small dense bean, much like the black bean used in chinese cooking for fermentation ala “black bean paste”.

I would’ve enjoyed my time at Goman y Gomez a lot more except for that when
I went up to pick my order from the counter, someone sitting next to me
decided to take my seat. Without asking. I thought that was the height of
rudeness!

For dessert I grabbed a strawberry and balsamic gelato from Ice and
Slice. Usually gelatomassi is my haunt (I adore their peanut butter gelato),
but Ice and Slice seemed to have a few interesting flavours which I shall
have to go back and sample.

(http://www.guzmanygomez.com/)Goman Y Gomez
175 King Street, Newtown 2042
(02) 9517 1533 ‎
Monday – Saturday: 11am – 11pm
Sunday:11am – 10pm

(http://www.iceandslice.com.au/index.html)Ice and Slice Gelateria
135 King Street
Newtown, NSW 2042
Ph: (02) 9516 4595
Monday – Friday: 11am – late
Saturday – Sunday: 9am – late

Leave a Reply

