Reverb10 – 16 December – Friendship

Prompt: friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Gradual or a sudden burst?

Living in western Sydney, I tend to feel very isolated since most of my friends live in the inner city. Since moving out here, I’ve been making the effort to make sure we meet up on a regular basis: it may not feel like much, but it means a lot to me, and it is a good destresser.
The sudden death of a friend in September whilst we were overseas, and then attending his funeral on the morning that we arrived back home was very sobering.
As all those who had gathered together to mourn the loss of dinky dunk grieved, I said to one friend that we really need to get together more often, and not just for occasions like this. Dunk lived life to the full, he was always climbing or diving or spending a year in Antarctica “because he could”.
So Dunk has taught me that I need to spend more time with my friends, and treat each moment as an adventure.

Leave a Reply

