Reverb10 – 7 December – Community

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community this year, online or otherwise? What community would you like to create, join or contribute to in 2011?

I’ve discovered a sense of community through a boot camp fitness session that is run on the work premises, but by an external instructor.

There is something enjoyable about leaving work early an saying on your way out: “sorry, I’ve got to go and punch people.”. The cameraderie about dragging the giant rope around the oval, or being told to move up to the 4kg weight (aww,but I like the 3!) for your squat press.
For 2011 I like to get into more the local community so I don’t feel so isolated in the ‘burbs. I was even thinking of joining the CWA (!) even though they meet when i’m working and I’m sure they’d all be stacks older than me. I might have to achieve the 2011 sense of community some other way.

Leave a Reply

