Review: Miso Restaurant, World Square

I’m not in the city often enough to remember when this popped up*. Certainly it has been open for several months, and is run by the Matsuya group who also own the very succesful Makoto sushi train around the corner and the Japanese bar Musashi in Campbell st Chinatown. This place seats about 50, and it is less frantic than the other restaurants, almost calming and
restful.
Everyday they offer a different bento box special, and they also offer
something called ‘teishoku’. They describe this as a healthy set meal, often
served home-style on small plates, and designed to reset your body and mind.
The blurb says: “It is a nourishing combination of rice, main dish, miso soup, and fresh seasonal vegetables.”

Prices vary depending on what main meal component you order, but it is usually $18 on average.
The first time I visit I order the bento box of the day. Service is quick,
and it is delicious. The serving size is such that you feel satiated but not over full.
This time I want to try a ‘teishoku’ combination – wagyu beef and chirashi rice ($17.80), and gen ma cha ($3.80), the roasted rice green tea. I wonder – is Chirashi Sushi the dish that Ton Ton noodles offer at lunchtime?
The majority of the customers are Chinese, but next to me are some Greeks, one of whom is very insistent on getting chicken breast katsu don. Not the thigh, must be the breast. It takes about 10 minutes for my meal to arrive. There is a random selection for the little appetizers that come with your meal: this time I got a little dish of ramen with a light soy sauce and a sprinkling of sesame seeds; and something like a ball of pureed potato salad, complete with crunchy pickled vegetables.
I love this ‘potato salad mash’. It is just so moreish, probably because of the mayonaise mixed throughout. The beef is thickly cut, covered in ‘yakiniku’ sauce. This is tasty initially, and then when it cools, seems to taste very salty. Elsewhere on the interweb, I find out that this sauce can be a combination of hoisin, soy sauce, miso, lime juice, ginger, sesame oil and honey.
The chirashi sushi (aka ‘scattered sushi) was a bowl of medium grain rice, with thin slices of oily salmon, some of which have been seared with a blowtorch. There is a sprinkling of toasted sesame seeds on top, and a bit of soy or similar sauce Yum! I finish every morsel.
By the time I get to dessert, I’m full. My neighbours have just received their tonkatsu sets – the menu warns that it takes 20 minutes to prepare the tonkatsu dish. There is the sound of happy crunching. I try a litte spoonful of what appears to be creme fraiche with a dollop of strawberry jam on top. Nice, but I’m happy with the tingling taste of sushi and beef remaining on my tastebuds. Recommended!


Miso Restaurant

Shop 20, World Square Shopping Centre (Hordern Arcade, Off Pitt Street)
644 George Street.
Lunch 11.45 a.m. – 2.30 p.m. Monday-Friday
Dinner 5.30 – 9.30 p.m. Monday-Saturday
Ph: (02) 9283 9686

* Website says since May 2008. Really?

One response to this post.

  1. […] and Avocado comes only with rice. I think I was looking for chirashi sushi. I get half an avocado, and some baby spinach on top of a pile of clumped together rice. Instead of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

