OMG! Meetfresh!


OMG! Meetfresh!

Originally uploaded by A Sydney Foodie

I was hoping to get a spot at Mamak
last night, and was (un)impressed with the queue of 20 or so people, when in the distance I saw a familiar sign. OMG, is that Meetfresh? It is! Maybe I can try that dessert I missed out on earlier. I rounded the corner, and I was astounded by the queue of 60 or more people queing up and across the plaza.

I discovered this chain of dessert houses in Shilin, Taiwan recently. I was hot and tired from visiting the National Palace Museum, so I pointed a picture of something that looked cool and refreshing. I ended up with a shaved iced dessert with sugar syrup, yellow taipoca cylinders, black tapioca cylinders, red beans and a ball of taro “icecream”. It was indeed refreshing, but I have no idea what it was. Examining the menu at the newly opened Sydney store, I think I ended up with Taro Balls dish number 4, based upon the description.
The price in Taiwan was NT45, or equivalent to $1.50 AUD. The Australian price for this dessert is $5.50. Not bad for a Sydney price, but terrible in comparison!

According to grabyourfork, this place has only just opened. I am sure it’ll be as popular as the many pearl tea drink places dotted all over Sydney, and may even spawn a few copy cats.

I couldn’t be bothered with the queue, so I went further up the road to LNC dessert house where there was no queue, and who offer similar desserts. I picked up a take-away hot tofu pudding with ginger syrup. Yum. LNC also offer *snow ice*, which I want more of! More on that later.

Meet Fresh Taiwanese Dessert
Corner Goulburn and Dixon Street
Haymarket Chinatown, Sydney
Ph: (02) 8339 1031
Open 7 days 11am til late

MeetFresh ShiLin Branch

214 ZhongZheng Road
Shilin District, Taipei

LNC Dessert House
Shop 12, 339 Sussex Street, Sydney
Ph: (02) 9283 3823
Monday to Thursday 12pm – 12midnight
Friday and Saturday 12pm – 2am
Sunday 12pm – midnight

Leave a Reply

