Review: Becco, Melbourne


Becco, Melbourne

Originally uploaded by A Sydney Foodie

I had the luck of being in Melbourne for work, and even better had a few hours at the end of the conference to go shopping (Gertrude Street, Smith street where unfortunately Ammo was closed, and then Brunswick Street). You can see the men I work with roll their eyes when I say I am going shopping before dinner.

I had had plans originally to go to Hutong dumpling for dinner – but they were fully booked out!

Anyway, a colleague had made a reservation at Becco. He had wanted to try Becco with his wife on the last trip, but unfortunately that time, it was fully booked out.
Busy night. Staff were quite intent on having us order a drink prior to ordering food, and it wasn’t until we had sat at the table chatting for 20 minutes with the wine menu unopened, did we

Oysters – three kinds available. Smokey Bay (SA), St Helens (Tas), Wallis Lake (NSW). I got three each of the Smokey Bay and St Helens. I figured that those two were the most closest thing to ‘local’. They came on a bed of ice, freshly shucked, ‘juice’ still intact. I tried mine both with and without lemon, and definitely preferred

The pasta of the day – sounded so delicious, that 3 out of 4 ended up getting it in one form or another. Spaghetti tossed with olive oil, calamari, cherry tomatoes, rocket or watercress, chilli and pickled ginger. After my oysters and bread, I found the main size hard going – I wished I had asked for it entree size!

As much as I would have liked to have tried the cheese platter ($18/50g, or $24 for 3 cheeses), there was just not enough space to fit it in.

It was good to not be rushed out after our meals, unlike some places trying to fit in two or more covers per table per night.

Becco Bar & Restaurant
11-25 Crossley St
Melbourne 3000 VIC
Phone: (03) 9663 3000
Mon-Sat noon-3pm, 6pm-11pm

Leave a Reply

