Review: Ayam Goreng 99

I had planned to head to the Rum Diaries on a Wednesday night, but considering that I am going to have to drive home, and that I would like to get home early, I instead decide to head to Ayam Goreng in Kensington.

Ayam Goreng 99 is full up on a Wednesday night and I need to wait 5 mins for a shared table at 8pm.
There’s a mix of Indonesian and Chinese, mostly students, all gossiping loudly.
I can’t remember the type of deep fried chicken to get, where you get to crunch the bones up as part of the experience. You can choose thigh or breast piece, one of three ways – Java (Goreng kalasan fried), sambal, Grilled (Bakar). So I order deep fried marinated chicken thigh javanese style $5.5, soto ayam chicken soup, and a Cendol drink.
Everyone is here for the chicken. Most people seem to get the chicken with a side of rice and lots of sambal chilli. The existence of vegetables appear to be ignored.
The cendol drink turns up first. My sweet tooth must’ve dulled – last time I got this, I had to ask for extra water to help dilute the sweetness. the palm sugar adds a lovely carmelisation, and it is fun digging around to pick up the bright green noodles.
The chicken arrives second, and it is also sweet and slightly carmelised in the marinade. It is so moreish, I wish I had another piece.
Lastly, my soto arrives. It is yellow and slightly oily and only mildly spiced. There is half an egg and a small amount of beans sprouts and clear vermicilli bean noodles. Unfortunately, it is not quite what I am seeking, so I am a little disappointed, and turn my attention back to cleaning the chicken bone, and slurping up the remaining Cendol.

Ayam Goreng 99
464 Anzac Parade, Kingsford, Sydney
Tel: +61 (02) 9697 0030

Open Wednesday – Sunday
Lunch: 11.30am-4.00pm
Dinner: 6.00pm – 9.00pm

Leave a Reply

